Central Castries Rules in T10 Blast Title Victory

Central Castries Mindoo Heritage beat out Babonneau Leatherbacks to emerge champions of the 2023 Dream 11 St. Lucia T10 Blast with an emphatic display, at the Daren Sammy Cricket Ground [DSCG], on Wednesday.

Summarised Scores:

Babonneau Leatherbacks 84 /6 (10 overs).

Central Castries Mindoo Heritage 89 / 2 (7.2 overs)

Result: CC Mindoo Heritage won by 8 wickets.

Beacon Insurance is looking for a Health Claims Dispatch and Query Desk Officer. Tap/click here for details.
Sponsored | Article continues below

Taking first knock, Babonneau were restricted to 84 / 6. Johnnel Eugene, the tournament’s top run-scorer managed to get 39, with 4×4, 2×6, while Zayee Antoine hit a small cameo of 15 (9) to give the innings a slight balance.

Jaden Elibox was Central Castries most successful bowler with 2 /15. Dillan John, Keygan Arnold, Tyler Sookwa, and Jamaal James were among the wickets.

Central Castries pair of Stephen Naitram and Ackeem Auguste tore into the opposition attack with an opening partnership of 52 (26), before Naitram was dismissed by Antoine for 29 (14) 3×4, 2×6.

Elibox made 18 (7) before being caught and bowled by Nehemiah Wilfred. Auguste remained on 33* (16) to take Central Castries to an effortless victory with 2.4 overs to spare.

In the third-place playoffs, South Castries Lions got the better of Soufriere Sulphur City Stars in a closely fought encounter.

Summarised Scores:

South Castries Lions 104 / 6 (10 overs).

Soufriere Sulphur City Stars 98 / 8 (10 overs).

Result: SC Lions won by 6 runs.

Sent in to bat, South Castries built their innings around an opening stand of 73 (37) between West Indies batter Johnson Charles 39 (17) 6×4, 2×6, and left-handed Noelle Leo 34 (21) 2×4, 3×6.

At the half-way mark, South Castries on 63 without loss and were well placed to post a commanding total, but they tapered off, scoring just 41 more runs of the final five overs to finish on 104 / 6.

Xavier Gabriel (16) and Malcolm Monrose (10) made useful scores. Bradley Tisson with 2/15, and Shanii Mesmain 2/23 were the wicket takers.

In reply, Tarryck Gabriel (14), Julian Sylvester (16), Xytus Emmanuel (14), Kevin Gassie (14), and Bradley Tisson (13) – all had good starts but failed to carry on, and in the end, Soufriere fell short by six runs during a tense finish.

Kensley Paul took 3 / 24, Kenrick James 3 / 24, Shervon Leo 2 /11), and Johnson Charles 1 / 5 to restrict the score and successfully defend their team’s total.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Send this to a friend