Team Saint Lucia – Champion of Winlott WICB U19 Tournament

Team Saint Lucia – Winlott WICB U19 Champions with skipper Tarrique Edward holding aloft the championship trophy, flanked by coach Garey Mathurin (left) and team manager Dave Albert (right).

Team Saint Lucia emerged winner of the Winlott Inc. WICB U19 Tournament that was recently held in Dominica.

Saint Lucia beat Dominica in their final game to lift the coveted trophy –as the undisputed junior champion in Windward Islands cricket.

In the final match, Saint Lucia won by 8 wickets to clinch a comprehensive and decisive victory.

Sent in to bat first, Dominica was bowled out for 161 all out (59 overs); with Stephan Pascal top scoring with 50 and Jelani Joseph  27.

Saint Lucia’s main wicket takers were Aaron Joseph with 3 for 39, and Daren Sammy Jr. taking 2 for 27.

In reply, St Lucia scored 175 all out; with Kevin Gassie – 41*, and Amari Venner – 31.

For Dominica, Jaiden Joseph picked up 5 for 44, Y. Graneau – 2/17, and Kyron Phillip – 2/39.

Batting a second time, Dominica was skittled out for 98 runs; with the main contribution from Edmund Morancie – 21.

Saint Lucia U-19 skipper Tarrique Edward returned outstanding figures of 5 for 12 to lead the rout.

Chasing a target of 85, the St Lucia batters got in action aggressively with Royce Paul hitting 43*, and Noel Leo – 28

St Lucia’s Champion MVP – Kevin Gassie

[Result: St Lucia won by 8 wickets].

Meanwhile, Windwards Cricket Inc. has extended hearty congratulations to Team Saint Lucia for its championship victory in this season’s Winlott U-19 cricket tournament.

A team of sports officials and media personnel were on hand to greet Team Saint Lucia, on their arrival at the GFL Charles Airport.

Meanwhile, three  young  St Lucian ‘rising stars’ will represent the Windward Islands in the West Indies Under 17 tournament carded for Trinidad next week.

The St Lucian players on the team are; Tarrique Edward, Kevin Gassie and Shawnil Edward.

The full list of team players is as follows:

Mahid Lambert, Tarrique Edward, Stephan Pascal, Kirsten Murray, Edmund Morancie, Divonie Joseph, Reshawn Lewis, Luke Wilson, Jelani Joseph, Solomon Bascombe, Kevin Gassie, Devin Tyson, Jerel Jeremiah, Shawnil Edward, Reserves: Jahson Vidal, Kodi Grant, Kirt Murray, Luvio Charles, and Deshonte Thomas.

The team coach is Clyde Telesford  and the manager, Samuel Holder.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.