Minelle Out, J’Urgen, Fontellio in for Calypso Final

The Carnival Planning and Management Committee (CPMC) this week updated its list of qualifiers for the Calypso Monarch Competition after former multiple monarch, Minelle, withdrew from competition to cater to unforeseen challenges.  As a result of the withdrawal, two artistes whose points were tied, will now participate in this year’s competition. These artistes are J’Urgen and Dycer Fontellio.

The updated list of artistes and songs selected to advance to the next stage of competition are listed in alphabetical order, and not indicative of scores or judging preferences.

Calypso Monarch Qualifiers

1.  De Jenerator — Just Ice System, Ridemic

2. Dezral — Legacy, Calling All Saints

3. Dycer Fontellio — PIP, Aftermath

4. J’Urgen — Papishow, LIAT Fiasco

5. Educator — Mardi Pwete’, Calypso Party

6. Mighty Sizzler — The Mortician, I eh for that

7. Oshun — African in me, Famn

8. Ready — Compy Tent, Off to Ukraine

9. TC Brown — Lucia and Helen, Points

10. Wally — Tribute to Vada, Outside

The CPMC has since wished Minelle and all qualifiers the best as the country moves into the final round of competition. The Finals of the Calypso Monarch Competition will be held on Saturday, July 9 at the SAB, Vigie. Tickets cost $50 and are available for purchase at The Cell outlets islandwide, and Steve’s Barbershop in Castries. Other ticket outlets will be announced in the coming days.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Send this to a friend