West Indies, Sri Lanka ODI Series Starts Today

An upbeat West Indies will face Sri Lanka today in three, One Day Internationals at the Sir Vivian Richards Cricket Stadium (SVRCS) in Antigua and Barbuda from 9.30 a.m., a fresh encounter that comes on the heels of their narrow 2-1 win last Sunday in the T20 International series, played in the same country.

(L-R) West Indies captain Kieron Pollard and Sri Lanka captain Dimuth Karunaratne set for ODI series. (Photo: Getty Images/ AFP)

Kieron Pollard takes charge of the ODI team against Sri Lanka this time around. In the West Indies last white ball series the West Indies went down 3-0 to Bangladesh (last month) in Bangladesh with Jason Mohammed as captain.

The following were unavailable for the Bangladesh tour: Kieron Pollard, Shamarh Brooks, Jason Holder, Sheldon Cottrell, Darren Bravo, Roston Chase, Nicholas Pooran, Evin Lewis, Shai Hope and Shimron Hetmyer. Fabian Allen and Shane Dowrich.

Bangladesh won the 1st ODI by 6 wickets; the 2nd ODI by 7 wickets and the 3rd ODI by 120 runs.

Beacon Insurance is looking for a Health Claims Dispatch and Query Desk Officer. Tap/click here for details.
Sponsored | Article continues below

Four out of the 13 players who played the Bangladesh series won favour with the selectors: Kyle Mayers, Alzarri Joseph, Jason Mohammed (captain) and Akeal Hosein.

The remaining players that toured Bangladesh include: Sunil Ambris (vice captain), Joshua Da Silva, Jahmar Hamilton, Chemar Holder, Andre Mc Cathy, Kjorn Ottley, Rovman Powell, Raymon Reifer, Hayden Walsh Jr., Nkrumah Bonner, Keon Harding replaced (Romario Shepherd).

The selectors have recalled – Shai Hope who is Pollard’s assistant (vice captain); Evin Lewis; Fabian Allen; Darren Bravo; Nicholas Pooran; Jason Holder; Kevin St.Clair and Romario Shepherd.

Pollard and his team will have to pull all stops against Dimuth Karunaratne who will lead the Sri Lankans, the other members of the squad include – Dasun Shanaka, Danushka Gunathilaka, Pathum Nissanka, Ashen Bandara, Oshada Fernando, Dinesh Chandima, Angelo Mathews,Niroshan Dickwella, Thisara Perera, Kamindu Mendis, Wanindu Hasaranga, Ramesh Mendis, Nuwan Pradeep, Asitha Fernando, Dushmantha Chameera, Akila Dananajaya, Lakshan Sandakan, Dilshan Madushanka and Suranga Lakmal.

(L-R) Kyle Mayers (West Indies) Dinesh Chandimal (Sri Lanka) and Alzarri Joseph (West Indies). (Photo: Getty Images/ AFP)

The remaining two ODI will be played on Friday 12th and Sunday 14th March.

West Indies defeated Sri Lanka by 3 wickets in the final T20 on Sunday 7th at Coolidge Cricket Ground: Scores in the match, Sri Lanka 131 for the loss of 4 wickets in their allotted 20 overs, West Indies 134 for 7.

Winning the toss and deciding to bat, Sri Lanka at one stage were 46 for the loss of 4 wickets inside the 10th over (9.3) before Dinesh Chandimal 54 not out and Ashen Bandara 44 not out put on an  85 runs partnership for the fifth wicket.

Fall of wickets: 1-10 Danushka Gunathilaka (9), 2-15 Niroshan Dickwella (4), 3-27 Pathum Nissanka (4), and 4-46 Angelo Mathews (11).

Bowing for West Indies: Fabian Allen 1 for 13; Kevin Sinclair 1 for 19; Jason Holder 1 for 27 and Obed Mc Coy 1 for 29.

Requiring 132 for victory, the home team struggled losing wickets at crucial intervals at one time being 95 for 5 with Lewis, Simmons, Pollard and Gayle back in the dugout after 4.2 overs.

Scoring for the West Indies Lendl Simmons 26; Nicolas Pooran 23; Evin Lewis 2; Fabian Allen not out 21, Jason Holder not out 14 and Christopher Gayle 13, the main contributors with the bat.

For West Indies the fall of wickets: 37-1 Evin Lewis, 54-2 Lendl Simmons, 61-3 Kieron Pollard, 75-4 Christopher Gayle, 95-5 Nicolas Pooran, 105 – 6 Rovman Powell, 105-7 Dwayne Bravo.

Bowling for Sri Lanka: Lakshan Sandakan 3 for 29; Wanindu Hasaranga 2 for 13 and Dushmantha Chameera 2 for 23.

Meanwhile, the visitors square the three match series 1-1 on Friday when they defeated the West Indies by 43 runs.

Scores in the match: Sri Lanka 160 for the loss of 6 wickets. West Indies 117 all out in 18.4 overs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Send this to a friend