News, News-buzz

Saint Lucia’s Finest Recognized at National Awards

ON Tuesday January 14th, 2019, the Ministry of Education, Innovation, Gender Relations & Sustainable Development in collaboration with the Nobel Laureate Committee hosted the 12th Annual National Awards of Excellence.

At a gala celebration held to celebrate the achievements of top performers from around the island, dozens of awards were handed out to appreciative recipients.

The Top Performing Primary Schools awarded at this year’s event were the Camille Henry Memorial School (large) and the Forestiere Methodist Combined (small). The Top Performer was Marie Therese St Clair representing the Dame Pearlette Louisy Primary School. Tapion Private School was also recognised and awarded for being a Top Performing School.

Special Education Awardees were Shivelle Norbal and Bertram Emmanuel (Student Awards), as well as Margaret Savory (Teacher Award).

In the CSEC Humanities category, Pradeep Mahtani was presented with the award for Additional Mathematics; Jynene Alfay for Mathematics; Hailey Boriel for English A; Joel Pinel for English B; Mya Symister for Visual Arts; Queen Issac in Theatre Arts; Joel Pinel again in Music; Iyanna Seale for French and Aidan Bousquet for Spanish.

In Natural Sciences (CSEC) Kluva Popo received the award for Human & Social Biology, Franissa Simon for Biology; Mya Symister, Physics; NavitIssac, Chemistry; Kayrissa St Martin, Integrated Science; Sherlan Jankie, Agricultural Science (DA) and Abel Ampadu, Agricultural Science (SA).

The CSEC award for Physical Education and Sports went to Thea Daniel.

CSEC Social Sciences awards went to NavitIssac for Caribbean History; Hailey Boriel for Economics; Abel Ampadu in Geography; Prasamsa Surapaneni for Information Technology; Prasamsa Surapaneni in Principles of Accounts and Principles of Business and Navit Isaac for Social Studies.

CSEC Technical and Vocational awards were presented to Nicholas Beausoleil for Office Administration; Zenna Hadeed, EDPM; Nicole Camsel, Industrial Technology (Building); Webster Clarke, Industrial Technology (Mechanical); Ryan Bernard, Industrial Technology (Electrical); Kimberly Flood, Technical Drawing; Taya Emmanuel, Family & Resource Management; Donetta Cox, Textiles, Clothing & Fashion; Francine Warner, Food, Nutrition & Health.

In the Tertiary Education category, the Top Performers were Abbie Pultie from the Division of Arts, Sciences & General Studies, Dawn Bonnett from the Division of Technical Education and Management Studies, Josephine Alexander from the Division of Teacher Education and Educational Administration, and Kenson Walter from the Division of Agriculture.

Franissa Simon was awarded for the Best Overall Performance (CSEC) and the

Top Performing Secondary School was the St Joseph’s Convent Secondary School.

The Island Scholar was none other than Daisee K. Lubrin.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Send this to a friend