Regional Police T20 Cricket: BARBADOS 2019 CHAMPIONS

Barbados emerged champions of the 2019 Regional Police T20 Cricket Tournament with an emphatic 96 runs win over Grenada at the Daren Sammy Cricket Ground on Sunday evening.

Barbados was asked to bat first after losing the toss and was quickly in trouble losing Sanaj Lewis LBW to Alvin Thomas for 0 with the score on 12; hard-hitting opening batsman Jamar Yearwood did not waste any time at the crease scoring 31 in a 33 runs second wicket partnership with Roger Williams. He was out caught by Andre Fletcher off the bowling of Laurie Williams with the score on 45. His score included four 4s and two towering sixes.

Roger Williams was joined by captain Dario Sargeant and the two added 43 runs before Williams was brilliantly stumped by Lindon Lawrence for 23 with the score on 88 for 3. It quickly became 88 for 4 as Sargeant, who was joined by Stefan Gooding, was next out LBW to Andre Fletcher for a well-played 26.

(L-R) RSLPF Acting Commissioner, Milton Desir presenting Barbados captain Dario Sargeant with the
Tournament Shield; Barbados captain Dario Sargeant receiving the championship trophy from a representative of the Royal Barbados Police Force. (PHOTO: Anthony De Beauville)

Standing well over six feet tall, Larry Babb joined Stefan Gooding as the two batsmen looked to repair the early damage done by the Grenadian bowlers adding 53 runs for the fifth-wicket.  Babb was eventually out trying to hit Fletcher for a maximum – he was bowled off the inside edge for 33 with the score on 141.

It soon became 141 for 6; Ravendra Persaud LBW to Fletcher 0. For the next delivery, Darien Seale went via the LBW route off the bowling of Fletcher for 0, 144 for 7 giving Andre Fletcher a hat-trick.

Rasheed Padmore was run out by Kenroy Peters for 4 and so to was Stefan Gooding the last man out, run out by Josh Noel for 34 with Chad Linton not out 4.

Extras: leg byes 5, wides 6, no balls 2 (13). Total 168 for 9 in 20 overs.

(L-R) Former police officer and now General Manager for Alternative Security Errol Alexander presenting
Grenada’s captain Randel Baptiste with the second place trophy; Retired Commissioner of Police in Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Keith Miller presenting Andre Fletcher (Grenada) with the MVP of the Tournament award. (PHOTO: Anthony De Beauville)

Bowling for Grenada, Andre Fletcher 4 for 13; Alvin Thomas 1 for 26, Laurie William 1 for 41 and Leon Chichester  1 for 43.

Requiring 169 for victory, Grenada was bowled out for 72 in 12 overs with Andre Fletcher 20, Rondel Baptiste 11 and Leon Chichester 11 the only batsmen to reach double figures.

The Grenadians could not ask for a worst start losing opening batsman Lindon Lawrence for 4 with the score on 4 and No. 3 Ronald Cato 0, 4 for 2. Both batsmen fell to Larry Babb in the first over. From here on it was downhill for the Grenadians.

At one time the Bajans looked pretty disappointed on the pitch when Fletcher was dropped by Chad Linton at deep midwicket with the score on 18 for 2. Linton made amends not too long after when he took a superb diving catch at deep square leg to dismiss the hard hitting opening batsman for 20 off the bowling of Darien Seale to start an early crop-over celebration.

Extras: leg byes 1, wides 15, no balls 1 (17). Total 72 all out.

Bowling for Barbados, Darien Seale took 5 for 8; Larry Babb 3 for 31 and Stefan Gooding 2 for 1.

(L-R) Former Police Commissioner, Vernon Francois presenting Jason Simon (Saint Lucia) with his award for
Wicketkeeper with the Most Dismissals; A representative of the Antigua and Barbuda Police Force presenting Johnson Charles (Saint Lucia) with his award for Highest Individual Score – 158 versus Dominica. (PHOTO: Anthony De Beauville)

In awards presented: Man of the match (Finals): Darien Seale (Barbados) 5 for 8; Best Dressed Team: Saint Lucia; Most Disciplined Team: Dominica; Batsman with the Most Runs: Andre Fletcher (Grenada) 377 runs ; Bowler with the Most Wickets: Andre Fletcher (Grenada) 10 wickets; Wicketkeeper with the Most Dismissals: Jason Simon (Saint Lucia) 6 (4 catches, 2 stumpings); Highest Individual Score: Johnson Charles (Saint Lucia) 158; Player of the Tournament: Andre Fletcher (Grenada) 377 runs, 10 wickets and 2 catches).

The Championship Trophy and Shield with gold medals went to Barbados, while the second place trophy and silver medals went to Grenada.

Anthony De Beauville is The VOICE Publishing Company’s multi-award winning sports journalist. He works closely with a number of sports federations including the Department of Youth Development and Sports, the Saint Lucia Olympic Committee and other organizations.

He covers and contributes articles highlighting the areas of international, regional, national, community based clubs and schools sporting activities. There is never an off day as he stays busy... Read full bio...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *