Getting Ready For Sports Awards


A NUMBER of sports personalities in St. Lucia are to be honoured for their outstanding achievements at the 35th Annual Sports Awards next month.

That was the word coming from the Ministry of Youth Development and Sports at a press conference to announce the names of the nominees for 2014 awards. The awards ceremony will be held on the night of Friday February 13 at Sandals Grande Resort.

No less than 19 core awards will be up for grabs including the “Sportsman” and “Sportswoman of the Year”.

Youth and Sports Director Jim Xavier said, “I took the time out to detail it, because we want to broaden and develop sports in St.Lucia. Within the 19 categories we received a total of 59 nominations. The junior sportsman / woman and senior sportsman / woman nominees top the list with 34”.

Some of the nomines so far are:

For Junior female – Qiana Joseph (Cricket), ChattanyPoleon (Netball), Stephanie Devaux Lovell (Sailing), NaimaHazell (Swimming), ChereseDarcheville (Table Tennis), Julia d’ Auvergne (Tennis), Skye Mondesir (Volleyball).

Junior male – Johnnel Eugene (Cricket), Dave Charlery (Cycling), Nyrone Winter (Football), Raekwon Eugene (Judo), Luc Chevrier (Sailing), TerrelMonplaisir (Swimming), Andrew Daniel (Table Tennis), AdrielBousquet (Tennis), Augustin Faulkner (Volleyball).

Senior female – Nerissa Crafton (Cricket), Ellaisa Marquis (Football), Shem Maxwell (Netball), ThaliaBergasse (Swimming), Stacey Roheman (Tennis), SanchaIsidore (Volleyball).

Senior male – LyndellMarcellin (Boxing), Miller Charles (Bodybuilding), Darren Sammy (Cricket), Kurt Maraj (Cycling), Sheldon Emmanuel (Football), Julian Lagon (Shooting), Jordan Augier (Swimming), Julian Biscette (Volleyball),

Asked whether he was pleased with the number of associations that sent in their nominees, Xavier said: “Not at all, I am disappointed with a number of NSF’s which failed to submit nominees for this year’s awards ceremony as much as they were assisted financially by the Ministry of Youth Development and Sports throughout 2014 for their various programmes”.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *