Introduction to the Citizenship by Investment Board

Saint Lucia’s Citizenship by Investment Programme (“CIP Saint Lucia”) allows a person to acquire citizenship of Saint Lucia by making a qualifying investment into the island. The Citizenship by Investment Unit (“the Unit”) are the general administrators of CIP Saint Lucia and are responsible to receive and assess all applications for citizenship and licenses. The Citizenship by Investment Board (“the Board”) are the overseers of CIP Saint Lucia and the Unit.

The functions of the Board include the following :

a.        co-ordinate the administration and operation of CIP Saint Lucia in an efficient manner;

b.        monitor the process of an application by an applicant;

c.        review reports of the Unit;

d.        make recommendations to the Minister on the development of CIP Saint Lucia;

e.        establish and determine the functions or duties of the Unit; and

f.        issue guidelines within its jurisdiction under the Citizenship by Investment Act Cap. 1.20 Act (“the Act”);

Pursuant to section 5 of the Act, the Cabinet of Ministers has appointed the following persons to be members of the Board for a period of two (2) years with effect from 1st September 2021.

1.        Mr. Lorne Theophilus – Chairperson

2.        Mr. Julian Charles – Deputy Chairperson

3.        Mr. Effrem Edgar

4.        Mr. Rene Williams

5.        Mr. Sean Alexander

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *