Jannou Credit Union Scholarships and Bursaries Ceremony

Twenty – Two of St. Lucia’s brightest minds formed part of the Jannou Credit Union scholarship and bursary programme. The inaugural CPEA Scholarship and Bursary awards ceremony took place at the Finance Administrative Centre, located at Pointe Seraphine on Monday 22nd 2022.

This programme which started in 1980, forms an integral part of Jannou’s Cooperate Social Responsibility. To date over one thousand students have benefited from the program. Jannou Credit Union has budgeted $150,000 annually for the past 40 years to create scholarship and bursary opportunities.

According to President Mrs. Junia Emmanuel-Belizaire all students deserve an opportunity to a secondary school education and as an institution Jannou understands the relief that the scholarships and bursaries provide to parents. Mrs. Belizaire also explained that the selection process was difficult for the Committee.

The final selection of awardees grades ranged from 92.4% to 97%. A total of 10 scholarships and 12 bursaries were presented to students. All scholarship holders demonstrated academic excellence and will be supported throughout their five  years in Secondary School. Students were reminded to maintain the agreed grade average to continue to benefit from this facility.

Guest speaker Ms. Cheyenne Quinlan a former bursary recipient, delivered an inspiring message to students. Ms. Quinlan who is now an employee with Jannou Credit Union shared her journey from a SOCA account holder to her current position as a Loans Officer. Ms. Quinlan stated to the awardees “You have more influence than you think, and with a positive mindset, the impossible is possible”. Students were challenged to join clubs, partake in sports, start their own business or be leaders in their communities.

Vice president of the Board of Directors Mrs. Dayne Emmanuel delivered the closing remarks in which she encouraged students “To continue on that steadfast journey of increase, progress and no regressing.” She further congratulated the awardees on behalf of the Board of Directors, Management and Staff.


Jashon H M Taylor

Layla M Samuel

Jaelyn A Henry

Thandi S Wilson

Tiffany S Jn Jacques

Giana N Gilbert

Keril T Tobias

Collin A L Mathurin

Joshua Ermay

Alexia Charles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Send this to a friend