Flow Plate Finals Tonight

Image of Flow Lancers FC

A new champion will be crowned this evening at the Phillip Marcellin Ground in Vieux Fort when the grand finals and third place silverware for the Flow Plate Championships organized by Veterans In Sports Inc. (VISI) and Saint Lucia Football Association (SLFA) take place.

According to the VISI, the gates will be open from 4:30 p.m. while the action on the square will commence from 6:00 p.m. Newcomers Labowi Connexions will clash with Flow Lancers FC from Castries in the third place playoff.

Image: (L-R) Flow Lancers FC versus Labowi Connextions 1. (PHOTO: Anthony De Beauville)
(L-R) Flow Lancers FC versus Labowi Connextions 1. (PHOTO: Anthony De Beauville)

Last weekend, the two teams failed to grab spots in the grand finals. Flow Lancers went down to VSADC 1-0, a goal scored by Guy Jn. Baptiste in the 23rd minute, while Labowi Connexions lost to Caricom Masters 2-1 with goals courtesy Andy Joseph (33rd minute) and Alvin Malaykhan (79th minute). Labowi Connexions’ lone goal came from Romeo Cox (6th minute).

How Flow Lancers FC made it to the third place playoff: Flow Lancers FC (1) — Gros Islet Veterans (2), FLFC (1) — Mon Repos Sharks (0), FLFC (1) — Labowi Connexions (1), FLFC (1) — Micoud Veterans (1). In the knockout stage, it was Flow Lancers (2) — Laborie Veterans (1).

The goal scorers for Flow Lancers FC were Jonathan John (3), Nigel Springer (2) and Claudius Amedee (1).

How Labowi Connexions made it to the third place playoff: Laborie Connexions (3) — Mon Repos Sharks (0), Laborie Connexions (0) — Micoud Veterans (1), Laborie Connexions (1) — Gros Islet (1), Laborie Connexions (1) — Flow Lancers (1). In the knockout stage, it was Labowi Connexions (3) — Vieux Fort North (2).

Goal scorers for Labowi Connexions were Nathan Justin (4), Justus St. Aimee (2), Rufus St. Aimee (1) and Romeo Cox (2).

The teams:Labowi Connexions will likely start with Kenneth Clarke, Baylon Felix, Andre Joyeux, Dave Charlemagne, Dave Joseph, Sylvanus Charlery, Dave Mc Farlane, Alvin Gittings, Nathan James, Romeo Cox and Peter Charlemagne.

Head Coach is Tracy Henry and Team Manager James Prophet.

For Flow Lancers FC, there is a strong possibility that their starting eleven will be similar to when they played VSADC in the semifinal round.

Flow Lancers FC: Vilan Edward (goalkeeper), VibertSonson, Ansgar Herman, Shane Medar, Anthony Paul, Raphael Calendar, Mauricille Williams, FadiAboud, Gilbert Alfred, Nigel Springer, Roger St. Louis.

Head Coach is Trevor Daniel, and Team Manager Shem Ermoy.

Image: (L-R) VSADC will play Caricom Masters for the Plate Championship. (PHOTO: Anthony De Beauville)
(L-R) VSADC will play Caricom Masters for the Plate Championship. (PHOTO: Anthony De Beauville)

At 8:00 p.m., it’s the big one, the much-anticipated finals where a new champion will be crowned. The match will feature two former champions of the main draw, the Caribbean Alliance Gold Cup. Three-time champions VSADC and Caricom Masters will square off in an all-Castries affair.

Several past national players will be in action and, based on last weekend’s performances from both teams, this one is expected to go down deep into injury time. VSADC expects Davidson Belizaire to be back after receiving a red card during the knockout stage, while Caricom Masters should be at full strength after some injury scare for their semifinals matchup last weekend.

How VSADC made it to the finals: VSADC (0) — Vieux Fort South (1), VSADC (0) — Valley Ledgens (2), VSADC (3) — Marchand (1), VSADC (3) by default — Congorians (0). In the knockout stage, it was VSADC (3) — BTC (2).

The goal scorers for VSADC were Guy Jn. Baptiste (3), Benjamin Gabriel (3), and Gilroy Mitchell (1).

How Caricom Masters made it to the finals: Caricom Masters (1) — BTC (1), Caricom Masters (1) — Canaries (0), Caricom Masters (0) — Anse la Raye (0), Caricom Masters (0) — Central Vieux Fort (0). In the knockout stage, it was Caricom Masters (2) — Marchand (1).

The goal scorers for Caricom Masters were Alvin Malaykhan (2), Godfrey Alfred (1), Cecil Cassius (1), Vaughn Dave Lewis (1), and Andy Joseph (1).

The teams: VSADC — Felix Mark, Martin Alexander, Sean Kirton, Valence Duncan, Gilroy Mitchell, Benjamin Gabriel, Bernard Modeste, Mathius Jules, Guy Jn. Baptiste, Winston Charles, Stanley Lesporis (goalkeeper), Dean Jean, Kent Weekes, Jameson Remy, Rohan Lubon, Trevor Phillip, Robby Skeete, Rufus Martyr, Anthony Arlain and Linus Lewis.

Head Coach is Trevor Anderson and Team Manager Christopher Lamontagne.

Caricom Masters: Cecil Cassius, Andre Emmanuel, Bryan Jean, Joseph Evans, Elbert Fredrick (goalkeeper), Theobalds Gonzales, Justin Edward, Zephrinus Fredrick, Curtis Noel, Alvin Malaykhan, Andy Joseph, Dwayne Phillip, Keith Thomason, Vaughn Dave Lewis, Cletus Cyril, Romanus Inglis, Marcelius Ernest and Phillip Ismael.

Head Coach is Solomon Alexander and Team Manager Rene Frederick.

Anthony De Beauville is The VOICE Publishing Company’s multi-award winning sports journalist. He works closely with a number of sports federations including the Department of Youth Development and Sports, the Saint Lucia Olympic Committee and other organizations.

He covers and contributes articles highlighting the areas of international, regional, national, community based clubs and schools sporting activities. There is never an off day as he stays busy... Read full bio...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *