Windwards Under – 17 Cricket Champs


WINDWARD Islands held their nerve on a final day filled with drama and rain and were crowned the new eegional Under-17 champions on Tuesday in Tobago.

Their batting, led by AllickAthanaze, set things up and their bowlers formalized a crushing, 207-run victory over Leeward Islands in their final round match at Canaan.

The Windwards topped the standings with 24.9 points and claimed the title for the first time, after Jamaica and hosts Trinidad & Tobago – the two teams ahead of them entering the final set of matches – failed to dip over the finish line on the last day of the tournament which was affected by rain.

Jamaica, the pre-series leaders, suffered a shocking 10-wicket defeat against last year’s champions Barbados in a low-scoring affair at Shaw Park Guyana overcame impressive bowling from Trinidad and Tobago captain KirstanKallicharran and upset the home team by seven runs under the Duckworth-Lewis Method, after bad light stopped play at Mount Pleasant.


Trinidad and Tobago finished the tournament second with 19.4 points, the same as the third-placed Jamaicans, but the home team had a superior net run rate so ended in the higher position.

Guyana were fourth with 18.2 points, Barbados fifth on 13.4 and Leewards ended last on 1.2.

Scores in the finals: Windward Islands 264 for nine off 50 overs (AllickAthanaze 85, Nick Elibox 43, KimaniMelius 34, Daniel Dupigny 28 not out, Emmanuel Stewart 21. Bowling for the Leeward Islands Tasillo Allen 3 for 49, Keshawn Richardson 2 for 29, Zawandi Whyte 2 for 48.Leeward Islands 57 off 24.1 overs, JemuelCabey 27.Bowling for the Windward Islands – Shane Roberts 4 for 12, Daniel Dupigny 2 for 14, TahjTavarnier 2 for 14.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *