Drag Battle: The Recall Awards Ceremony

Winners of the various race classes and executive members of the SLMSA pose for a photo
Winners of the various race classes and executive members of the SLMSA pose for a photo

THE St. Lucia Motor Sports Association (SLMSA), in a show of gratitude and appreciation, has honoured participants in the races it held last year on December 13.

The “2023 Nationals” was indeed a success. According to Mr. Terroll Compton, Chairman of SLMSA, “there were many lessons learnt from our first race event as an Association, from the planning, delivery and execution stages and we are very thankful for the experience gained.”

He went on to say “although there were a few glitches along the way, these will be rectified come February 24th and 25th at The Base in Vieux-Fort where the “Regionals” will be taking place.

Compton also extended his appreciation to the spectators, persons who assisted with the organization of the event and who contributed to making the event safe and incident free.

“We are looking forward to working and assisting all motor sporting clubs with the aim of reaching their full potential,” Compton and the SLMSA executive said.

There were only four race classes last year namely the 12 sec, 13 sec, 14 sec and 15 sec brackets, not including motorcycles, which performed on the day. Spectators got a feel of the untapped talent of our new and seasoned racers, an experience which will be amplified come February 24th and 25th.

The following are the December 13 Nationals awards:

Special Awards:

Fastest reaction Time: Shayne Deshong

Top speed (cars): Shanil James

Top speed (bikes): Fred Faure

Best 60ft: Brad Edmund

Best elapse time (car): Brad Edmund

Best elapse time (bike): Fred Faure


1st Syvester Clement
2nd Ashley Clement
3rd Michael Williams

12 Second

1st Kenneth Tobierre
2nd Shanil James
3rd Vance Philbert

13 Second

1st Brian Evans
2nd Mashack Biroo
3rd Mc Grath Placide

14 Second

1st Kenneth Tobierre
2nd Waseem Janoura
3rd Ruben Joseph

15 Second

1st Jerry St. Marthe
2nd Ruan Auguste
3rd Shayne Deshong

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Send this to a friend