New Parliament Opens

MORE than a month after the June 6 general election, the new St Lucia Parliament will be formally inaugurated today.

Seventeen elected members and 11 appointed members will take their oaths to occupy seats in the House of Assembly and Senate respectively.

In addition, the persons to preside over meetings of both chambers will also be chosen today.

The United Workers Party under Allen Chastanet defeated the St Lucia Labour Party led by Dr. Kenny Anthony in last month’s elections. Anthony has since resigned as leader of the SLP and has been succeeded by Philip J. Pierre.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Send this to a friend