Small Business Awards Saturday

Nominees To Contest In Twelve Categories.

Small business people deal in a wide range of goods and services.
Small business people deal in a wide range of goods and services.

WHO will be the Manufacturer of the Year, Youth Entrepreneur or Coconut Vendor of the Year?

These and other awards will be announced on Saturday when the St. Lucia Industrial and Small Business Association, [SLISBA] hosts the National Awards for Small, Medium and Micro Enterprises (SMMEs) .

The awards are known as the Excellence in Entrepreneurship Awards and it will be held in the south of the island for the very first time, at the Coconut Bay Resort and Spa. The awards ceremony will be carried live on Calabash TV from 6:30 p.m.

These awards celebrate the very best of the small business sector which comprises well over 70 percent of businesses in St. Lucia. The SMME sector is seen as a key driver of the local economy with businesses operating and generating employment in every part of the country.

It is also a celebration of businesses in the southern half of the island as about 60 percent of the nominees come from the area stretching from Dennery to Soufriere, inclusive of Micoud and Vieux-Fort.


Here are the nominees and the 12 categories they have qualified for.

Manufacturer of the Year: Rainforest Foods, Viking Traders. Tenderoni Foods

Retailer of the Year: Eroline’s Supermarket, Dilly’s Supermarket, Penny Mart

Wholesaler of the Year: Green’s Wholesale, Southwell Inc., Uptown Liquor Store

Agribusiness of the Year: Hill J. Farms, Hyline Poultry Farm, Island Sweet Farms

Health/Wellness Business Person of the Year: Dr. Almus Mac Dowell, Candy Nicholas, Mother Earth.

Most Outstanding Nail Technician: Krusha’s Nail Design, Melita Ashford, Tessa’s Nail Design

Most Outstanding Auto mechanics establishment: Eastern Supplies and Services, Auto Specialist.

Food Service Provider of the Year: Food Fiesta, June’s Catering, Orlando’s Restaurant and Bar

Service Provider of the Year/Professional: FabianaCheddy, Infinity Desktop Publishing and Typing Services, Errands Courier Services.

Entrepreneur of the Year: Cost U Less Boutique, Eagles Freight and Brokerage and Services, RJB Hotel Supplies.

Hairdresser of the Year: Final Touch Unisex Salon, Hair Salon 2000, Phyllis Montoute

Barber of the Year: MiahJaoon Walter, Jeffers Bideau

Special Awards: Youth Entrepreneur of the Year, SLISBA President’s Award for Membership, Coconut Vendor of the Year, Creative Business of the Year, Fisherman of the Year, Fisherwoman of the Year, Roadside Vendor of the Year, Long standing Family-owned business.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *