SLNCA T10 Blast Enters Day 2

WEATHER permitting, a number of present and past senior and Under-19 national cricketers will feature in the second edition of the Saint Lucia National Cricket Association (SLNCA) T10 Blast at the Daren Sammy Cricket Ground (DSCG), Gros Islet, today.

The teams: Group A – South Castries (Lions), Central Castries (Mindoo Heritage), Mabouya Valley (Constrictors), Vieux Fort North (Raiders) and Play Off 1. Group B – Mon Repos (Stars), Gros Islet (Cannon Blasters), Choiseul (Clay Pots), Babonneau (Leatherbacks) and winner of Play Off 2.

Image: (L-R) Captain Daren Sammy (Micoud) and captain Johnson Charles (South Castries). (PHOTO: CPL T20/ Getty Images)
(L-R) Captain Daren Sammy (Micoud) and captain Johnson Charles (South Castries). (PHOTO: CPL T20/ Getty Images)

The Progression/ Playoff teams are: Soufriere (Sulfur City Stars); Laborie (Bay Royals); Micoud (Eagles) and Vieux Fort South (Sunrisers). It is still uncertain which two teams will join the top 8.

In Game 1 from 12.30 p.m. Shanni Mesmain will lead Soufriere Sulfur City against a formidable Micoud team, which will be led by former West Indies and two time ICC World T20 champion, Daren Sammy.

The Soufriere squad: Shanni Mesmain (captain), Ashley Hippolyte, Bradley Tisson, Xytus Emmanuel, Wayne Prospere, Julian Sylvester, Kevin Gassie, Quint Mesmain, Tenancy Hippolyte, Jervan Charles, Dalius Monrose and Keither Prospere. Reserves: Desmond Alfred and Xende Lionel.

Micoud team: Darren Sammy (captain); he will have alongside him his son Daren Sammy Jr, and brothers Murlan Sammy and Lanse Sammy. The remainder of the squad reads – Tarrique Edward, Shervin Charles, Travis Gifford, Garvin Serieux Jr, Mervin Wells, Michael Charlery, Winnel Felix, Earvin Frederick. Reserves: Shem Paul, Garvey Mitchel, Ryan Langiller, Ted Mathurin, Erwin Lubin, Egbert Henry, Karon Maximin, Xavier Bideau, Bernard Calixte, Kern Xavier, Brendon Bica, Ryan Charles. Nerville Florence – Head Coach and Luke Jn Pierre – Team Manager.

(L-R) Captains, Awene Edward (Laborie); Dishon Rampal (Vieux Fort South) and Shanii Mesmain (Soufriere). (PHOTO: SA)
(L-R) Captains, Awene Edward (Laborie); Dishon Rampal (Vieux Fort South) and Shanii Mesmain (Soufriere). (PHOTO: SA)

Game 2 is scheduled for 2.30 p.m. when Laborie takes on Vieux Fort South.

The Laborie squad: Awene Edward (captain), Denlee Anthony, Michael Francois, Shervin George, Nick Andrew, Tyran Theodore, Rick Moses, Daran Jn Pierre, Sanjay Pamphile, Jordan Emmanuel, Roman Ramroach, Calvin Stanislaus, Quincy St. Rose, Jenny Louisy – Team Manager and Ashley Duncan – Head Coach.

The Vieux Fort South team: DishonRampal (captain), Jervin Isidore, Eardley Dupre, Richie Robert, Jermaine Harding, Kurdney Constantine, Samuel Montia, Ray Joseph, Kamanie Laure, Rudell Baptiste, Kahlil St.Hill. Reserves: Dyondre Taylor, Hervey Philip; Jurmil Dugaillard, Shelton St.Rose and Jay Baptiste. Asa Joseph – Team Manager, Hafeez Ali – Head Coach.

On Sunday May 2nd, from 12.30 p.m. for the Playoff round it will be Micoud versus Vieux Fort South and at 2.30 p.m. Soufriere against Laborie.

On Monday 3rd, the tournament officially swings into action from 12.30 p.m. when last year losing semifinalist Gros Islet plays Choiseul and at 2.30 p.m. defending champions South Castries Lions will take on the winner of Playoff No.1.

The Gros Islet squad: Dalton Polius (captain), Vernillius Gabriel (vice -captain), Larry Edward, Kimani Melius, Tyrel Chicot, Lee Solomon, Dornan Edward, Kymani Sexius, Jard Goodman, Lee Solomon, UdelPreville, Tyrel Chicot, Ryan Goodman, Khan Elcock, Bolton Sayers. Reserves: Jeandell Cyril, Zidane Arthur and Vidal Crandon. Alton Crafton – Head Coach.

Flashback 2020!! Defending champions, South Castries Lions. (PHOTO: BC)
Flashback 2020!! Defending champions, South Castries Lions. (PHOTO: BC)

Choiseul Clay Pots: Bronte Bess (captain), Audy Alexander, Clem St. Rose, Jason Simon, Vince Smith, Canice Richardson, Valange St. Ange, Nick Joseph, Stephane Theophane, Alvinaus Simon, Junior Henry, Tristan Norbal and Sky La Feuille. Team Manger – Esther Theophane, Head Coach – Dave Albert.

Defending champions South Castries Lions will open their title defense without the services of four of their key players: Alex Antoine, Tonius Simon and Kester Charlemagne, the trio left the island recently to play club cricket in England, while Daren Sammy has moved over to newcomer Micoud. In the departure of Daren Sammy, the team will be captained by former West Indies hard hitting ODI and T20 opening batsman, Johnson Charles.

The South Castries Lions squad: Johnson Charles (captain), Xavier Gabriel, Aaron Joseph, Wendell Inglis, Shervon Leo, Wade Clovis, Nickson Edmund, Avalinus Calendar, Romario Simmons, Kemrol Charles, Noelle Leo, Daniel Jn Baptiste and Collinus Callender. Eugena Gregg – Team Manager and Brian Calixte – Head Coach.

The hard hitting at the DSCG continues on Tuesday 4th, from 12.30 p.m., Vieux Fort North plays Central Castries and at 2.30 p.m. Babonneau will come up against Playoff No.2. On Wednesday 5th, from 12.30 p.m. Mabouya Valley play Playoff No.1 and at 2.30 p.m., last year finalist, Mon Repos goes up against Gros Islet.

The tournament is in collaboration with Dream X1, the World’s largest online Fantasy platform.

Anthony De Beauville is The VOICE Publishing Company’s multi-award winning sports journalist. He works closely with a number of sports federations including the Department of Youth Development and Sports, the Saint Lucia Olympic Committee and other organizations.

He covers and contributes articles highlighting the areas of international, regional, national, community based clubs and schools sporting activities. There is never an off day as he stays busy... Read full bio...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.