Council Member for Saint Kitts and Nevis Assumes Chairmanship of ECCB Monetary Council

Chairmanship of the Monetary Council of the Eastern Caribbean Central Bank (ECCB) was transferred to Dr Timothy Harris, Council Member for Saint Christopher (Saint Kitts) and Nevis, during a virtual Handing over Ceremony on 24 July.

Image of Prime Minister Dr. Timothy Harris
Prime Minister Dr. Timothy Harris

Prime Minister Harris succeeds the Outgoing Chairman, Dr the Right Honourable Keith Mitchell, Council Member for Grenada.

The Monetary Council is the highest decision making authority of the ECCB and comprises the eight Ministers for Finance of the ECCB member countries: Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, The Commonwealth of Dominica, Grenada, Montserrat, Saint Christopher (Saint Kitts) and Nevis, Saint Lucia and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines. Chairmanship of the Council is rotated among the member countries in alphabetical order on an annual basis.

Following the virtual Handing Over Ceremony, the Council will convene for its 96th meeting where it will receive the Governor’s Report on Money and Credit Conditions in the ECCU.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *