SLGA Has A New Executive

The St. Lucia Golf Association (SLGA) on 25th May 2022 voted in a new executive for the period 2022-2023.  All members of the new executive were elected unopposed. The new executive members are:

Mario Reyes – President (succeeding Mr. Kent Glace who will continue to serve on the executive as immediate past president.

Mr. Dharmendra Shah – Vice President

Habib Chreiki – Secretary

Harith Khan – Captain

Jodi Bodhoo – Treasurer

Daren Sammy and Catherine Spooner – Floor Members

President, Mario Reyes expressed great gratitude to the previous executive noting the hard work done during COVID to keep the sport of Golf alive and active.  The President emphasised that one of the key objectives of his new executive will be to spread the game of golf across communities in Saint Lucia.  The game of golf cannot remain in the North with the reputation of being the game of a few.  To support this objective, efforts will be made to partner with the relevant government agencies, schools and community groups to encourage persons to take up the sport.

The President also recognised the contribution of Mrs. Joan Paul who served as secretary and handicap administrator on the SLGA for over twenty years. Mrs. Paul contributed in so many ways to the success of the Association and to Golf that her contributions will always be noted and the vigour and care with which she saw to her duties will always be goals for the new executive.

“Thank you, Joan Paul,” Reyes said, in acknowledgement of the role Paul played in the Association’s development over the years.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *